3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2009 12:10 PM by philmodjunk

Report Generation - Querying like access

sugarking

Title

Report Generation - Querying like access

Hi,

I am a new user of filemaker who likes the simplicity. However, i am having problems understanding some concepts. I have a program that i created to track sales. I created a table called order that has the following fields (order id, clientid, etc) then i also have a table related called orderline ( that it linked to the main table and this one tracks the items that are being sold ( stockid, quantity, etc ). However, i am having trouble understanding how to create a report :

1) that will allow me to filter or report to me the sales in one month ( i really don't know what tool i need to use --> i know in access you do queries )

2) that will allow me to cross reference the sales vs the amount paid

I would like a guide line, i do sales for a living and i thought of filemaker to help me track the sales.

I look forward to receiving some help !!!

thanks to you all

Sugarking

• 1. Re: Report Generation - Querying like access
          philmodjunk

In filemaker you find groups of records by "Performing Finds" instead of pulling up a wizard that builds a SQL query for you. For simple data searches this is much easier, especially since the find is performed on the layout (in access this would be a "report" or "form"), not in a separate window that pulls up a table view of the data when you're done.

Basic steps:

Enter find mode

Type criteria in each field as needed

Click Perform Find

Filemaker then pulls up all matching records for you to click or scroll through.

To find all records dated 5/1/2009...5/31/2009, (MMDDYYYY format):

Enter find mode and type in the above date range exactly (date1...date2), or just enter 5/2009

click perform find and you've got them.