6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2011 7:38 AM by Jorman

Reservation and Scheduling

Jorman

Title

Reservation and Scheduling

Hello

I am new to Filemaker as of June and it has been a crazy journey. I still trying to learn some of the basics while being asked to perform magic. Thus far I have found creative solutions for most things, but I am finally stumped to the point of asking the question to those that have the knowledge. Thank you ahead of time!

I am currently working on creating a system that will track auditions for a school theatre program. They have specific times during the day that auditions are to be scheduled each day they are holding auditions. I am curious if there is a way for the user to select the day via the drop down calendar function and then have a value list drop down with the available times in the next field. Each day/time combination needs to be unique. Is there a way to remove the already scheduled times within the chosen day to be removed from the Value list?

Once again thank you for any help!

Jason

• 1. Re: Reservation and Scheduling
          philmodjunk

This is called a "conditional value list" If you set up the correct table where each record is an available rehearsal time period for a specific date, then such a value list will be possible to set up.

Here's some basic info on conditional value lists to get you started. Feel free to post back with questions if you still aren't sure how to set this up.

Forum Tutorial: Custom Value List?

Knowledgebase article: http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5833/kw/conditional%20value%20list

Demo File: http://www.4shared.com/file/f8NsU2DJ/ConditionalValueListDemo.html

• 2. Re: Reservation and Scheduling
            Jorman

Thank you for your quick response Phil!