5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2014 4:55 PM by philmodjunk

Resetting a count

RobMorgan

Title

Resetting a count

I am new to Filemaker and trying to find a way of resetting a count based on a certain field.

I have a database that allows defects to be added to a contract. I have a table with contract numbers The contract numbers are in the format of CM00000000. I have another table of defects which contain the contract numbers and the two fields are linked in relationships. When the user selects a contract I am trying to get the system to generate the next defect number in that contract.

i.e       Contract selected CM00001234 system generates defect no CM00001234/1

user then inputst CM00001532 system generates defect no CM00001532/1

user then inputs CM00001234 this time systme generates CM00001234/2

I hope this makes sense

• 1. Re: Resetting a count
          philmodjunk

Link Defects to an occurrence of itself by the contract number field:

Defects---<Defects|SameContract

Defects::ContractNumber = Defects|SameContract::ContractNumber

Define Sequence as a number field in Defects.

Use this calculation to assign a value to it:

Max ( Defects|SameContract::Sequence ) + 1//do not use this in a field of type calculation

Define a text field in Defects with this auto-enter calculation:

ContractNumber & "/" & Sequence

Select the unique values validation option for it.

• 2. Re: Resetting a count
            RobMorgan

Thanks for this. Think i am out of my depth.

You lost me on the first line.

How would I link defect to an occurrence of itself by the contract number field. I only installed the software yesterday :)

• 3. Re: Resetting a count
              philmodjunk