6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2015 9:25 PM by arronlee

Resize image file?

jackmac

Title

Resize image file?

Hi all,

I want to resize an image in my Filemaker database. I simply want to take say a 1024 x 768 image to 800 x 600.  The sizes will always be uniform but I'd like to be able to click a button and it gets done.

Any ideas?

TIA

Jack Mac

• 1. Re: Resize image file?
          philmodjunk

What version of FileMaker are you using? In fileMaker 12, there's a GetThumbNail function newly added with this version, that may serve for this purpose.

• 2. Re: Resize image file?
            JimMac

Although I am no expert, I will see if others can help more.  However, my answer is NO.

The graphic image is a jpg, png, gif, tif etc, which image size was set by a graphics program, like iPhoto. or the camera settings.  FMP simply stores the image. You can define a container field to be those pixel sizes or crop it to reduce the displayed size, but the orignal graphic file will remain unchanged.

You could change the graphics using another program to your desired 2 sizes and save the 1024x768 and a 800x600 and click between them using FMP.

I am hoping i am wrong, I would like to do something similar.

Jim....

• 3. Re: Resize image file?
              philmodjunk

GetThumbNail creates a new copy of the image that can be entered into a container field and exported. This suggests that it would work to resize an image file, but only if you have FileMaker 12.

• 4. Re: Resize image file?
                ShaikhAtta1238

What if its FileMaker 11?

• 5. Re: Resize image file?
                  JimMac