8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2010 10:12 AM by 2W0PWR

Resizing my DB

2W0PWR

Title

Resizing my DB

Hi,

Can anyone help? I am fairly new to FM and my Brother helped me build my DB using Filemaker Pro 11. I now have an iPad and downloaded the App and added the DB to the App.

My problem is I don't like the size of the layout on the iPad. It's more noticeable in Landscape mode. Is there a way of changing the size of the layout to fit the iPad screen size? I have uploaded a pic of my DB and am wondering how to move the dotted line to the right to allow me to expand the DB?

Regards,

Dave

Screen_shot_2010-12-29_at_16.11.38.png

• 1. Re: Resizing my DB
          philmodjunk

You'll find there's documentation from FileMaker Inc. that documents the optimum size for iPad and iPhone. Generally, you have to duplicate your layout and edit the layout to optimize it for the mobile device you plan to use. Then use scripts to select the layout that's suitable for your device (There's a get function that can determine that the current device is an iPad or an iPhone so that this can happen automatically.)

You might want to visit the FileMaker Go forum (See tab at top of your screen) for more details on these issues.

• 2. Re: Resizing my DB
            2W0PWR

Is there no way of moving the dotted line across the page to widen the DB? Sorry, i'm not sure if its a silly question. I don't know a great deal of FM

Dave

• 3. Re: Resizing my DB
              philmodjunk

The dotted line simply indicates the limit to which FileMaker prints given the current printer setup. Use print set up to change page size or orientation and you'll see that this line moves accordingly, but your layout dimensions will remain unchanged.

• 4. Re: Resizing my DB
                2W0PWR

Hi Phil,

Is there anyway to change the Layout dimensions?