5 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2011 1:54 PM by philmodjunk

Resizing Records

BillGale

Title

Resizing Records

I am brand new to the data base world and a bit overwhelmed.  Can someone tell me how to create a full page record?  When I drag fields off the default format, the fields appear in the new position but cannot be filled in.  Thanks,  Bill

• 1. Re: Resizing Records
          philmodjunk

And what is the "default format"?

Don't see how repositioning a field to a different spot on the layout would affect the user's ability to edit the contents of the field, so that description puzzles me here. Please describe exactly what you did.

A few basic hints to keep in mind when you set up your full page record layout:

Make sure that when you view the records in browse mode, you select the Form View option.

In layout mode (edit layout), you can resize layout parts by dragging their lower borders downward. Thus you may need to drag the lower body of the body layout part downward if you need more room. If you have selected the appropriate printer, page size and page orientation in printer set up, you'll see lines appear that tell you where the page break will be (horizontal line) and how much of your layout will print on the page (everything to the left of the vertical dashed line).

• 2. Re: Resizing Records
            BillGale

Thanks for the response.  I am clearly missing something obvious here:  when I dragged down the bottom line, it bounced right back up (which is all I meant by 'default':  where the bottom of the record is on the screen, about 7 in. down a sheet when printed).  Trying again, this time successfully, I dragged the field boxes to the new lower margin. The field description stayed put; the corresponding data entry box would not follow.  I was left with the unusable word "cost" or "size" or whatever at the bottom of the page and the work area stuck up top.