5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2014 7:20 AM by NicolasDavid

Restrict pop-up menu on typing

NicolasDavid

Title

Restrict pop-up menu on typing

Hi. I am quite new to FM that we use here at work. So I apologize in advance if I am not using the proper terms, or the question is stupid.

We have a pretty simple database, in which some of the fields are pop up menus (from manually entered value lists, to prevent the user from entering new values). The point is that some of these value lists are pretty large (hundreds of values), so that when a user wants to fill this field he has to scroll through the list, which is getting very long (actually much longer on PCs than on Mac, the scrolling speed being different).

I am thus looking for a way to restrict the list. The ideal solution would be that upon typing a few letters, the list restricts to the values containing these letters (not necessarily starting with these letters).

From what I read on this forum, I have the feeling this is feasible, but I couldn’t figure out how to do it. Any help would be appreciated. Thx

• 1. Re: Restrict pop-up menu on typing
          philmodjunk

There are multiple methods possible.

If your value list is entering text into a text field, you can change the field format to drop down list and enable the "auto-complete" feature. There's a field validation option you can select that limits the data entry to only values from the value list to keep users from manually entering new values into your drop down list field.  Many value lists, however, display a name while entering a number and auto-complete does not work with them.

You may also be able to trim down the list by using a conditional value list. With such a set up, you select a category from a value list formatted field first and then your next field's value list is filtered to just the values of that selected category.