10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2015 8:49 AM by RolandGomez

retrieving name from multiple fields in multiple records.

RolandGomez

Title

retrieving name from multiple fields in multiple records.

Filemaker World!,

Oye. I'm sure this is an easy one for y'all. I've been playing with filemaker for around 6 months and this is a hiccup I can't figure out. Here we go. We're a real estate company with 1) Multiple Employees who protest taxes for 2)Multiple properties. In some cases our multiple employees tag team to reduce taxes for a specific property. My goal is to retrieve all of the properties a single employees is associated with. Due to billing this is how I've had to set it up. Tax Consultant No. 1 and 2 are individual fields(which is located in our Properties table) that pull from a Value list that is connected to Employees table

Property A: Tax Consultant No. 1-Daniel;  Tax Consultant No. 2-Joshua

Property B: Tax Consultant No. 1-Daniel;  Tax Consultant No. 2-Casey

Property C: Tax Consultant No. 1-Roland; Tax Consultant No. 2-Daniel

Property D: Tax Consultant No. 1-Joshua; Tax Consultant No. 2-Daniel

In this instance I need to build a report that displays every property (record) Daniel is associated with. My thought was to create a separate field "tax consultant merge" and have a calculation that searches for those records where daniel is either TC No. 1 or TC No. 2. I can't seem to get it right. HELP!!!!!!!!!

Any information is greatly appreciated

-Roland (an aspiring filemaker guru...boy do I have a ways to go)

• 1. Re: retrieving name from multiple fields in multiple records.
          SteveMartino

With the exception of the exceptional PhilModJunk, we all have a way to go! :)

I think for starters, did you try create a find that gives you a found set of the related records?  First a hard coded example.