9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2012 9:34 AM by philmodjunk

Returning multiple answers from a match field

OllySedden

Title

Returning multiple answers from a match field

Heya,

I'm really new to FileMaker Pro Advanced (to any form of programming in fact!)

Basically; i have two tables displaying various columns of information (the two tables have the same columns in each). Its comparing existing products with products we would like to replace them with; so the columns could be the power of the fitting, output, etc... 

I want to select an existing fitting from a dropdown menu (which i've managed to do...). I then want to select the type of fitting to replace the product with another dropdown menu. I then need to be able to select one from all the options available that match the same 'type of fitting'. there are, say, 5 types of fitting, each type could contain several dozen to several hundred products; but i want the sheet to list all those products with the say type.

So far i can only get it to return 1 possible product instead of giving me a choice between multiple products...

can anyone help? any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Returning multiple answers from a match field
          philmodjunk

I think you are describing a conditional value list--where you select a "category" in one value list formatted field and then the next field lists only values that are a member of the selected category. For example, you could select a "fitting type" in value list one and then the value list in the next field lists only fittings of that type. On the other hand, you could be describing a portal where the portal displays only fittings of a type selected in the value list.

Here are some links on conditional value lists:

Forum Tutorial: Custom Value List?

Knowledgebase article: http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5833/kw/conditional%20value%20list

Demo File: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j6qf0z9fnem3uxd/ConditionalValueListDemo.fp7