7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2013 1:29 PM by M.Z.

Reverse conditional value list?

M.Z.

Title

Reverse conditional value list?

I'm a database design newbie and I wonder if someone could tell me how more knowledgeable people would refer to the type of structure I want to make so that I can figure out how to make it. 

Basically, I want to do what's described in the "Creating Conditional Value Lists" support page, except in reverse. I want the user to be able to input "Tomato" and have the database fill in the fact that this is "lunch" and "soup". The relationships are tree-like and the names are unique; "tomato" could not be anything but "soup" and "soup" could not be anything but "lunch". 

So, what do you call this? 

M. 

• 1. Re: Reverse conditional value list?
          philmodjunk

I don't follow how that is "in reverse". Can you explain in more detail?

• 2. Re: Reverse conditional value list?
            M.Z.

Instead of inputting "lunch" and having Filemaker generate the list that includes "soup", which the user then has to select, I need to have it know that soup is a lunch item without being told by the person inputting data. 

I have categories that are related in a tree and I need the user to be able to type in the name of any node or leaf category and have Filemaker look up and input all the parent nodes for that category. 

The categories are organism taxa, if that helps. 

• 3. Re: Reverse conditional value list?
              GuyStevens

Arent you looking at this in reverse?

You have three meals:

- Breakfast
                   - Lunch
                   - Dinner

You have a whole lot of 'dishes" like for instance 'Soup'.
                   Every dish is related to a certain meal.

And every dish can have a load of ingredients, like "tomato".

But there might be other things that contain tomato.

Like tomato sauce. Or Gazpacho.

How do you know that when you select tomato, it's for the soup?