8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2013 11:52 PM by KristofJanezic

RGB values to Background color

flovelett

Title

RGB values to Background color

I'm a novice FM user with little or no scripting experience. I'm designing a database to keep track of color samples.

Each record has 3 numeric fields with RGB values. I need a script that will pass these values on to define the fill color of an object in the layout so that a small color swatch will be displayed. Ideally the script should be designed so that if the RGB fields values are changed, that the object color will update.

The FM reference shows that there is an RGB function, but I don't know how to use it to set the color of a layout object.

Help greatly appreciated.

Felicia

• 1. Re: RGB values to Background color
          philmodjunk

The RGB function is used to style text with a specific color by using it nested inside a function call to TextColor. It cannot be used to produce a specific fill color.

• 2. Re: RGB values to Background color
            schamblee

Here is a sample I created that uses the webviewer to display a color swatch.  This sample uses two custom functions to convert decimals to hexadecimals and both functions were obtained from www.brianDunning.com

https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D9559058_78149901_131461

• 3. Re: RGB values to Background color
              raybaudi

You could use a Web Viewer, as Chamblee said.
                   But I do not see why you'll need a Custom Function because you could simply set it to:

"data:text/html,
                   <html>
                   <body margin='0' style=border:'0' bgcolor=rgb(" &
                   YourTable::red
                   & "," &
                   YourTable::green
                   & "," &
                   YourTable::blue 
                   & ")>
                   </body>
                   </html>"

where red, green and blue are the names of your 3 fields.

• 4. Re: RGB values to Background color