6 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2010 12:30 PM by philmodjunk

Running Balance

davekk

Title

Running Balance

I am fairly new to FMP and I am using FMP Advanced 10.0 v3 on my Imac OSX 10.6.2.  

What I am trying to do is to establish a running balance based on lineitem transactions like a checkbook register and have tried the "checkbook Example with Running Balance" dated Oct. 31, 2007.  Now either  I do not understand the example clearly enough or something because I find that if the data is previously existing in the table then the previous balance does not calculate.  If I add a new record the index field seems to generate and the calc index seems to calculate the index field value less 1.

I am not sure about the lookup feature with the field Previous Bal. ?

I am assuming the initial table used call it "Budget" has an occurrence of the same call it "Current" and the two are related via the field called index. 

I would appreciate any information regarding if this method is even close or maybe I am in left field and the solution is not there...

Thanks for any help available and if there is any other info that I might have not provided or can provide. 

David Kennedy 

• 1. Re: Running Balance
          philmodjunk

"checkbook Example with Running Balance"

Was this a thread in this forum, a knowledge base article or something else?

Without knowing the details of what you've attempted, it's pretty hard to suggest any specific help.

• 2. Re: Running Balance
            davekk

a knowledge base article

Checkbook Example with Running Balance

Answer ID   5030  

url="http://filemaker.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/filemaker.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5030"

• 3. Re: Running Balance
              philmodjunk

Thanks, That's a very old example (note the versions listed at the top) and filemaker has changed quite a bit since then.

Here's a better way to get the running balance to calculate: (and I used it in versions older than 5.5 too).