5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2011 3:12 PM by arthursc

Runtime Application - Design considerations

arthursc

Title

Runtime Application - Design considerations

Hi All,

I have started to create an application and have the following questions before I proceed further and hope that I can have some easy to understand answers from members of this site. I'm fairly new to FMPro Adv 11, hence my questions.

Should I be considering file-separation - Layout.fp7(Layout designs) Data.fp7(Data-store)

How would I go about doing runtime updates without trashing users data? Is there a simple script that could be used.

What is the recommended window size that is cross platform compatible?

How can I create a demo that users could use locking it down to say 10 records?

How can I secure the runtime from illegal copying?

Where can I find a generic/template license agreement?

What is the recommended way to create a help file for the application.

Kind regards

Colin.

A lot of questions I know but having got to where I am with creating the DB, I need to be sure that I have considered all the angles.

• 1. Re: Runtime Application - Design considerations
          philmodjunk

I don't have answers for all your questions, but here are a few to get you started:

Should I be considering file-separation - Layout.fp7(Layout designs) Data.fp7(Data-store)

Yes, this will simplify things for managing updates as you can simply provide a new copy of the interface file to replace the existing copy for a large percentage of your updates.

How would I go about doing runtime updates without trashing users data? Is there a simple script that could be used.

For cases where you have to deploy a new copy of the data file, you can provide a script that imports all the records from each file and that also updates the next serial value settings on any auto-entered serial number fields.

How can I create a demo that users could use locking it down to say 10 records?