12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2010 11:17 AM by 3WaveGuy

Runtime Version

3WaveGuy

Title

Runtime Version

Hi, I am a newbie (5 hours old). I bought FM10 Advanced because I want to create runtime pgms for a room of users. When I read the new manual it looks like this version is not multiuser but standalone. Did I make a mistake, I thought documentation said up to 10 users?

• 1. Re: Runtime Version
          davidanders

Filemaker can peer to peer 10 copies.

Filemaker runtimes are single user and not network capable. 

• 2. Re: Runtime Version
            3WaveGuy
               So how does one sell programs that are client server and protect IP?
            • 3. Re: Runtime Version
              Steve Wright

Are you going to be selling a single solution (aka shrink wrap / vertical market)

If so, consider contacting filemaker about becoming a member of FBA with an SBA(Solution Bundle Agreement) 

This lets you bundle filemaker with your pre-approved single solution, to become a member you need to send your completed solution to filemaker for review.

http://www.filemaker.co.uk/fba/public_faq.html 

You can still remove all admin access privileges from a file to be distributed this way 

• 4. Re: Runtime Version
                3WaveGuy
                   Hi, thank you! That looks like an excellent avenue, and I will take advantage of it when my product is developed. My outstanding concern is over protecting my database, code and layouts from prying eyes when I let people use it. Is there any way to lock that out from the users with the ordinary license or is that what you meant by taking away admin priveleges?
                • 5. Re: Runtime Version
                  philmodjunk
                     Minor quibble: Filemaker 10 hosts 9 copies. The host counts as the tenth copy.
                  • 6. Re: Runtime Version
                    ralvy