1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2014 1:39 AM by margagb

Sales Back Order Script - Help needed

margagb

Title

Sales Back Order Script - Help needed

Hi,

As I am no expert in scripting I am asking for some help. I'd like to create a script to process back orders, i.e. there are open line items on a sales order.

For example: Order was placed for a quantity of 100. Only 20 were shipped. How do I create a script so that I can ship the remaining quantity of 80. I have set up ordered qty, received qty and back order qty in the line items table. I also have identified a line item status field. Apart from this scenario it is also possible that there will be multiple shipments against one line item, in other words it is possible that the back order quantity of 80 will require another few shipments.

Any help how I go about scripting this will be highly appreciated. Thanks so much.

• 1. Re: Sales Back Order Script - Help needed
          philmodjunk

Before you can script, you need to figure out the data model you are going to use to manage multiple shipments to fulfill a single order.

What tables and relationships do you have in place now?

Orders---<LineItems>----Products

is the basic starting point used in most such databases to manage taking orders and then you'd link in other tables to manage the shipping process.

• 2. Re: Sales Back Order Script - Help needed
            margagb

Thanks for your quick reply and your help. Much appreciated. I have the following data model… see uploaded image.

• 3. Re: Sales Back Order Script - Help needed
              philmodjunk

If you have a back order situation for a given order, do you intend to create two records in DELIVERY linked to ORDER?