5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2014 10:28 AM by philmodjunk

Saving an event solution based on the event name

mdphillips

Title

Saving an event solution based on the event name

I'm a total FM noob so any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

I work with a group who provides logistics for various events.  Among other things, we track 5 unrelated items used during an event and currently use Excel.  I'm working on a solution to combine these items into a "suite" for a given event. I've created a menu layout to access each of the areas we would track.  I would like to have this suite saved as a new solution for each event based on it's name.  That may sound a little crazy but based on our post-events needs this would work better.

I know I could rename the master file prior to the event but I'm wondering if I could write a script to name the event and and save the file as such.  Whichever route I take, it has to be as easy as possible for the user since many have limited computer and virtually no FM skills.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Saving an event solution based on the event name
          philmodjunk

Can you explain why saving separate copies of your file is necessary? This is rarely a good way to manage your data though there are specific "special case" reasons why you might need to do so.

If your database is not hosted over a network, a script can use Save A Copy As to save a copy of the database file to a specified file name and location by using a $Path variable to specify the file name and location.

You may find this thread on $Path variables and the script steps that can use them helpful: Exploring the use of a $Path Variable in Scripts

• 2. Re: Saving an event solution based on the event name
            mdphillips