6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2009 11:21 PM by davidanders

saving files and docs

dxbcamper

Title

saving files and docs

Hi all,

I would like to know if there is a database template where I can save files and documents under a contact. I am completely new to filemaker and have no clue how it works. 

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best Regards

• 1. Re: saving files and docs
          davidanders

I do not understand.

You would open a Filemaker Database, open Word, create a Word Doc and save it in Filemaker?

Why?

• 2. Re: saving files and docs
            philmodjunk

You can store references to other files, such as emails, word docs, PDFs... in a container fields. Usually, you want to use the store as reference option to store a link to the file rather than the actual file. This is an option at the bottom of the dialog when you first insert the file or it's reference. You can double-click these container fields to open the referenced document.

To insert a file reference into a container field:

Define a container field and place it on your layout.

Enter Browse Mode

Click in the field

Choose Insert | file

• 3. Re: saving files and docs
              dxbcamper

Hi David,

well, the answer to that is pretty simple. If I have a database of 1000 contacts, I would like to be able to punch in a contact and see all the correspondence with this contact in one window.....that is really the only reason I would need a program such as filemaker. This is a basic function in Bento and I am 100% sure it is also possible in Filemaker.

I would use Bento if it were possible to synchronize data between MACs and PCs, but I believe synchronization is not possible....in fact, Bento is not even available for PCs as far as I know.

Best Regards

omar

• 4. Re: saving files and docs
                dxbcamper

Hi Phil,

thanks for your help in this......