12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2014 2:02 AM by BookMan

Saving searched items to new table

BookMan

Title

Saving searched items to new table

I am new to filemaker but so far I have found it very user friendly. I however have a question for you experts. I will give you a little context.

I go to several suppliers each day to buy books. I need to keep track of the books I buy, by recording their barcode. I want to record each suppliers barcodes in separate tables. so when I buy from MR X the records are saved in the Mr X table and then when I go to Mr Y the books I record are saved in the Mr Y table, and so on.

I want to use the same form to save information to the different tables. is this possible perhaps using a drop down menu or something. I just cant seem to figure out how to do this!

• 1. Re: Saving searched items to new table
          TKnTexas

Not the same layout, but you can make a copy that each references the two tables.  But, I think you are losing much to do separate tables.  Just have a field on each record as to who it was purchased.  Comparison are much easier.

• 2. Re: Saving searched items to new table
            philmodjunk

Using a separate table for each customer is pretty much impossible in FileMaker. Instead, you put all those records in the same table, but use a customer ID to keep Mr. X's records distinct from Mr. Y's. Adding more records is easy, adding a new table for each new customer, isn't.

You may also find this link on bar code scanning to be of interest if you are using a Bar Code scanner linked via USB to your computer: Need help writing script to integrate barcode scanning

If you plan to scan with an iPad or iPhone, the above link is not applicable.

• 3. Re: Saving searched items to new table
              BookMan

Thanks to both of you. That is a much better way to do it.