4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2014 3:07 PM by philmodjunk

Script - Part Borders

walrus28

Title

Script - Part Borders

I'd like to know how to make a script to modify the borders on a layout part. 

• 1. Re: Script - Part Borders
          raybaudi

No script can enter "Layout Mode", but the developer can.

• 2. Re: Script - Part Borders
            philmodjunk

The script can create the illusion of changing part borders by changing layouts to a layout that duplicates the first except for different borders.

But feel free to use Post a new Answer to explain in more detail what you are trying to do, maybe there's an alternative approach to getting the result that you want.

• 3. Re: Script - Part Borders
              walrus28

Thanks raybaudi. I'm new to scripts and am still figuring out what all I can do with them. 

PhilModJunk - Thanks, but that won't help here as I am frequently changing which fields are in this layout and would then have to change it in two places.

To elaborate on my situation:

I frequently have to make 3 reports for a desired field(s): one version showing all items with sub-summaries by sub-category and category, one showing only sub-summaries by category and by sub-category, and one showing only sub-summaries by category. 

Currently, we have three layouts, one for each version. Each time a new set of reports is needed, I change the title & field(s) on each version. I'd like a way to make the changes once. 

I am exploring the idea of using a sub-summary by item number part instead of body part. Then I would only need one layout and could produce all three versions by only changing the sort. 

However, the problems that arise with this are that:

1. For each version,I have to manually change the thickness of the part borders & which parts have fields that are bold. Otherwise, the report is not friendly to read. I was hoping that this could be automated using a script.