2 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2010 7:48 AM by MarkHolbrook

Script - Send email

MarkHolbrook

Title

Script - Send email

Hello all,

I write biomedical software for a living so programming concepts and constructs I am familiar with.  I've also done a fair amount of scripting.

I have a FM V11 database for our 66 homeowner HOA that I maintain on a Mac (Snow Leopard).  Each month I must send 54 emails containing a PDF of the monthly meeting minutes.  I have written FM scripts to help me send out these emails.    Basically the script selects a range of records (those people that have email addresses) then uses the SendMail script to send the mail.

There are several problems. 

1) I don't use Mac Mail as my default email client and FM pretty much requires this if you are going to use the email client option of Send email.  While this is an annoyance I can switch to Mac email and run the script.  However it opens 54 email message windows that I must go through and hit send for.  This works and it is nice I can see that each one is being sent.  But Mac Email does not like having 54 windows open and slows down quite a bit.