6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2013 2:48 PM by philmodjunk

Script for automated email based on date

jasoncaldwell

Title

Script for automated email based on date

Hello,

I am very new to file maker pro and I am wanting to generate an automatic email notification when the current date matches that in one of the fields of an entry, is this possible and if so can someone tell me how to accomplish this?  Thank you. 

• 1. Re: Script for automated email based on date
          philmodjunk

I'm not sure if this is what you want, but a script can perform a find for all records where a data field is the same as today's date. If any records are found, then the script can send out an email.

This script can be set up so that it is performed once a day the first time that a user opens the database file. Or a robot file can use your email client to do this once a day or a schedule on FileMaker Server can use an SMTP email server to send out an email once a day.

Does this sound like what you want to do? Can you specify some more details and let us know which parts of that outline you do not know how to implement?

• 2. Re: Script for automated email based on date
            jasoncaldwell

Either of the scenarios you mentioned sound like they will fit the bill. I am using file maker pro 12 and the starter solution for contacts. right now there are about 100 entries but there will soon be several thousand. Each entry has a field labeled coverage end date i would like the entry or a copy of it emailed when that date is met. as far as implementation i am a complete newbie, i was looking around at new script if >coverage end date = date am i on the right track or am i way off? 

• 3. Re: Script for automated email based on date
              philmodjunk