1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2010 10:30 AM by Pebbles

Script for Duplicating a record with a portal

Pebbles

Title

Script for Duplicating a record with a portal

Hello, I am using FM 10 on Windows XP.I am fairly new to the program but I am trying to learn as I go along.  

Let me describe what i have.  i have created a database with a one to many relationship I have a parent database the has a portal for children data. each has its own auto generated id number on their individual tables.

Next year we need to duplicate the records to update them with any new information. I do understand I have to create a script to preform the task but every time I try it still doesn't duplicate the children data in the parent table or in the related table.  Please help!

thoroughly confused:smileysad:

• 1. Re: Script for Duplicating a record with a portal
          philmodjunk

You need to use either Go To Related Record or a scripted find to pull up the portal records on a layout that refers to the same layout as your portal does. THen you loop through each of these records, duplicating them and updating them with the new Id number or other key used in your portal's relationship so they show up in the new record's portal rather than the original.

"Next year we need to duplicate the records to update them with any new information."

Chances are good that by changing your approach you can manage this type of update without having to duplicate records.

Go To Related Records is a very useful tool, but which is very poorly documented. To learn more about GTRR, click the following link:

The Complete Go To Related Record

• 2. Re: Script for Duplicating a record with a portal
            Pebbles

Phil, 

Thank You for the response and the helpful information.  Upon reading the link and the book I have I have come up with this script:

Go to layout ["COE"(COE]