5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2009 5:54 AM by ninja

Script or Code for PDF files

sweetcuda

Title

Script or Code for PDF files

Here is my question.

I have a database for credit card receipts, it stores the receipt and other information. The stored receipt is in PDF format. I want to take a couple of field information assigned to that receipt and have it put in text on the receipt. Does anyone know how I would make a code or script to do this. I am a novice at best to Filemaker and to sql or any other coding. I appreciate any help on this. 

Example is I have a charge code table, a receipt table and vendor table. I want to take the charge code field, the vendor field and the amount field and place them on the receipt without having to go into the receipt and type this information again. I just want it to be pulled from the database and placed on the receipt. 

Thank you,

Lesley

• 1. Re: Script or Code for PDF files
          sweetcuda

If no one can help me with the code, can anyone tell me if it is even possible to do so I dont spend hours upon hours trying to figure it out when it is not possible.

Thanks in advance.

• 2. Re: Script or Code for PDF files
            jonnyt

The best options would be to create a layout called receipt. Put all of the necessary information in here to generate the receipt.

Then use filemaker to generate the receipt and then use the save records as PDF function to generate the pdf when it is required.

You can still store the receipt in filemaker, but it is recommended to store the recipt files in a directory on your computer and link to the file from filemaker so as not to bloat your database.

The only other option is the pdf manipulator plugin http://www.softpedia.com/get/Office-tools/Other-Office-Tools/PDF-Manipulator-plugin.shtml although i have not used this and cannot vouch for its capabilities.

• 3. Re: Script or Code for PDF files
              sweetcuda