10 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2012 6:30 PM by Embee

Script question: first row of portal

Embee

Title

Script question: first row of portal

Hi fmp's

I am just getting into scripting in fm and want to set a field to:

the "PrimaryKey" of the first/top record in "MyDynamicallyFilteredPortal".

Hope one of you can tell me how to do this?

- Embee

• 1. Re: Script question: first row of portal
          Embee

I seem to be able to get the right functionality with GetNthRecord:

Set Field [MyLayoutTable::MyField; GetNthRecord (MyDynamicallyFilteredPortalTable::PrimaryKey;1)]

is that the right/best way of doing it?

- Embee

• 2. Re: Script question: first row of portal
            Sorbsbuster

No, I think you need to drive the focus to the portal (use go to field, or name the portal) and then pick up the data from the Portal Row [First].  The reason I think you method is suspect is because you have to use the relationship only and the records it relates to ignore the filters on the portal.

• 3. Re: Script question: first row of portal
              Embee

Sorbsbuster,

You're absolutely right. I made a mistake in calling it MyDynamicallyFilteredPortal... it's "filtered" at the relationship level only. Not with portal filters.

But i originally wanted to do what you are talking about, and put the focus on the portal (and I still would like to learn) but i can't figure out how to put the script together, so could you maybe elaborate further with a snippet? With the portal object name "MyPortal"?

Thanks

-Embee

• 4. Re: Script question: first row of portal
                philmodjunk

Use the name box in the inspector to give your portal an object name.

Then use this script:

Go to Object ["objectNameOfPortalHere"]
                Go to Portal Row [first]
                Set Field [YourTable::YourField ; YourPortalTable::Field]
                Commit record