7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2014 10:54 AM by OlivierV

Script to Automatically Create Related Records in Related Table

OlivierV

Title

Script to Automatically Create Related Records in Related Table

Hello ! 

I'm very new to databases in general and Filemaker in particular. I saw a lot of videos including some lynda.com tutorial and was able to achieve a lot. I'm just stuck on a particular problem as my knowledge of scripts is very (very) limited. I looked at this forum for the solution and couldn't find one so i decided to create a new topic, i hope you won't mind :)

PROJECT

The project is a little like a role playing game for Employees. The goal is to have Missions that every employee can do, whenever a mission is accomplished, the employee gets some experience points and they will get higher levels etc. So I have a table with EMPLOYEES, a table with MISSION and a related table called VALIDATIONMISSION (it's linked via MissionID and EmployeeID key fields) where I can assign each mission to each employees. The problem is I have to assign manually each mission to each employee which is a tedious process. Not to mention that if I ever add an employee or a mission I have to do it all over again and assign each to each. It's a nightmare as I have about 100 employees and over 300 missions.

SOLUTION

The ideal scripts would do the following.

- Automatically create records in the VALIDATIONMISSION table so that every MISSION is assigned to every EMPLOYEE.

- Be able to update. For example if a new mission is created it would be automatically create records to assign it to every employee without changing the existing records. Also if a new employee is added to the database he/she should have all the mission automatically assigned as well.

Maybe I need 2 scripts. One to create everything from the database I already have and another that would just be an Update script. I just don't know :/

WHAT I TRIED