7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2014 2:10 PM by JeremyBrooke

Script to automatically renumber other records when one is manually renumbered

bruderdog

Title

Script to automatically renumber other records when one is manually renumbered

Hi, I have a product list which is sorted numerically in ascending order (see picture). The Product Numbers are editable, and the list resorts automatically. However, I need a script to automatically renumber the records i didn't modify to avoid duplicate Product Numbers. ObjectModify will trigger this script.

Example with picture below:

-If I change 6 to 8, 7 and 8 should become 6 and 7.

-If I change 8 to 6, 6 and 7 should become 7 and 8.

Screen Shot:

Any ideas? I'm pretty new to this so go easy on me.

J

• 1. Re: Script to automatically renumber other records when one is manually renumbered
          philmodjunk

Do not use this "product number" field as a field for linking these records to other tables in relationships.

Replace Field Contents has a serial number option that can be used to renumber a found set of records as you describe.

• 2. Re: Script to automatically renumber other records when one is manually renumbered
            bruderdog

Hey PhilModJunk,

Thanks for the reply. You're absolutely right, and I should clarify. I have it set up so every product has a unique serial number that is created with every new record. This pk is never modified.

The product number I'm using here will not be used to link this table to any other, but merely be used as a field by which the records can be sorted. The product number will be customizable without creating duplicate pks.

Any solutions to the sorting/renumbering script?

• 3. Re: Script to automatically renumber other records when one is manually renumbered
              philmodjunk

to repeat:

Replace Field Contents has a serial number option that can be used to renumber a found set of records as you describe.