2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2010 9:37 PM by thachlam

Script to insert photos

thachlam

Title

Script to insert photos

Hi,

I am totally new to Filemaker and I have to import 10000 records of data and photos to a database. It would take weeks to insert photos into each record. Would someone help me with a script to display photos in container fields with imported links (in different field). Many thanks for help.

• 1. Re: Script to insert photos
          FentonJones

There is an Import Records -> Folder menu command (or script step) which can Import an entire folder (and optionally subfolders) of image files at once. You will get the Image (container field), File Name, File Path (URL syntax), and optionally create and import a 128 pixel thumbnail (container field).

If you check the [x] Import only a reference to each picture file, then the image's container field will include the file path (FileMaker syntax). I say "include," because it has 3 lines (if a local disk), with dimensions of the image, a "relative path" (not very useful), and the "absolute" path (last line). This data can be extracted from the image in the container, using GetAsText (container field).

So that's one way. Another entirely different method would be to just Import only the file paths, then create a calculation which coerces them to FileMaker syntax, with a result of Container. In other words, if you can create a calculation which produces the FileMaker syntax path of the image file, it can display the image.

Or you can import an OS syntax path (which is different on Mac or Windows, but only slightly), and use that for the calculation, coercing it to FileMaker syntax. (Different syntax file paths can coerced to another, using Text functions.)