5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2010 11:28 AM by philmodjunk

Script to perform find in one field then automatically insert date in another field

VictorVoegtli

Title

Script to perform find in one field then automatically insert date in another field

I have an inventory database where when I check things in I want to perform a search on the item's barcode (using a barcode reader). If the item is found I'd like it to automatically place today's date in the Returned Date field. After the date is added I want the form to reset in order to take the next item. If the item is not found I want an error message that reads something like "Item not found".

Their are really only two fields: Barcode and Returned Date

I am a novice at scripting but have written a couple very simple ones. So I am confused about how the easiest way to accomplish this. Any advice would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Script to perform find in one field then automatically insert date in another field
          philmodjunk

Are you using FileMaker 10 or 11? If so you can use script triggers to automate the barcode scanning process.

Make the field where you are scanning in the barcode a global text field. I'll call it, gScanText.

Enter Find Mode[]
          Set Field [YourTableName::Barcode  YourTableName::gScanText]
          Set Error Capture [on]
          Perform Find []
          If [Get (FoundCount ) > 0]
             Set Field [YourTableName::Returned Date ; Get ( CurrentDate ) ]
             Set Field [YourTableName::gScanText ; "" ]
          Else
             Show Custom Dialog ["Item not found...]
          End IF

• 2. Re: Script to perform find in one field then automatically insert date in another field
            VictorVoegtli

Thanks Phil. This really helps me out. Yes - I am using FM10. 

One thing : how do I get it the script to reset the form to accept the search for the next barcode?

• 3. Re: Script to perform find in one field then automatically insert date in another field