9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2013 11:16 AM by philmodjunk

Script Trigger for Barcode Scanner

YeeWaiSeng

Title

Script Trigger for Barcode Scanner

Dear all,

I am new to scripting on filemaker pro advance 12. Im having a very basic FMP database with me. I created a few fields in the database with imported data from an excel file. One of the field is Confimation Number, which is a unique number for each person. I would like to have Confirmation Number field always ready in Find mode, once after a barcode being scanned it automatic perfom find and check on a checkbox and timestamp. If same record being scanned, will trigger error without checking on the checkbox and timestamp. 

I tried it work with onobject save with host, but client did not work. Host on Mac Mini, and shared to client on Window. Need advice and guidience from the Pro user here. 

Thanks

• 1. Re: Script Trigger for Barcode Scanner
          philmodjunk

Here's a thread on barcode scanners and script to automate them: Need help writing script to integrate barcode scanning

Here's a thread with numerous examples on how to set up a scripted find that works from find criteria entered into a global field: Scripted Find Examples

• 2. Re: Script Trigger for Barcode Scanner
            YeeWaiSeng

Hi PhilModJunk,

Appreciate for your reply. Is the OnLayoutKeystroke enable for client that sharing from a Host via Instant Web Publishing?

Jeffrey Yee

• 3. Re: Script Trigger for Barcode Scanner
              philmodjunk

Script Triggers cannot be directly tripped from user interactions with the database when using a web browser to access it. So this does not work from a web client.

• 4. Re: Script Trigger for Barcode Scanner
                YeeWaiSeng

Hi PhiModJunk,

Thanks for your reply. Now im understand that Script Trigger does not work from a web client. And at last i decided to use Remote Open from Host. But now i would like to let you know my situation and get advice from you as per below.