8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2013 2:14 PM by AmilValladarez

Scripting

AmilValladarez

Title

Scripting

Hello everyone:

I'm working on a database that will create invoices and each invoice will have 5 items per page. I also created 2 (LayA & LayB) printing layouts because I need the invoice data to be displayed on the page differently when printed.

What I would like to do is create a script that will allow me to move through layouts if a condition is true. For example:

If the invoice has 5 items, it'll use layA to do the printing, but if the invoice has more than 5 items, it'll use LayB to do the printing. 

I tried using the "if function" but I wasn't able to make it work the way I wanted it. I'm new to scripting so it's no surprise I can't figure it out on my own.  I hope someone can help.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Scripting
          LaRetta_1

Invoices should be printed from your LineItems table so more than 5 items will instinctively roll onto the second page and you can still sub-total (create sub-summary report).  It would work the same but remove your restrictions.  Simply place your Invoice and customer fields directly onto the LineItems layout in the heading.  :-)

• 2. Re: Scripting
            philmodjunk

LaRetta's answer assumes that you have a related table of line items linked to your invoices. If this is not the case, you should modify your design so that you do have such a table.

• 3. Re: Scripting
              LaRetta_1

Thanks, Phil, indeed true … if using FIELDS to hold each item then they need to be switched to records related by the InvoiceID.  

• 4. Re: Scripting
                AmilValladarez

LaRetta & Phil: