10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2012 11:59 AM by DavidF

Scripting - Export Field Contents Problem

DavidF

Title

Scripting - Export Field Contents Problem

Hello,
           I would be greatful for some help in spotting the obvious? mistake in my FMP 12 script.
           From a found set of records, I need to extract,the text from a text field called "Notesp01" and write its contents to a .txt file. Each .txt file is  to be named with the contents of a text field called "doc_ref_no".
           So if I have found 10 records I need to end up with 10 off .txt files each named as per the contents of "doc-ref_no" i.e tda123456.txt, tda15697.txt ......etc. All text files to be stored in same folder.
           The following script  only half works. Instead of getting 10 off indivdually named files I get 1 file written to 10 times- the resulting file being called $fiilename.
           I am new to the world of FMP variables, I think its a  variable problem, but I dont understand why its not working
           Any help with  this would be very welcome

Regards

Dfred

script
           Go to Record/Request/Page[ First ]
           Loop
           Set Variable [ $filename; Value:(TDA::doc_ref_no)&".txt" ]
           Export Field Contents [ TDA::Notesp01; “file:../../38 Projects/TDA 2nd pass/$fiilename” ]
           Go to Record/Request/Page
           [ Next; Exit after last ]
           End Loop

output path
           file:../../38 Projects/TDA  2nd pass/$fiilename

• 1. Re: Scripting - Export Field Contents Problem
          philmodjunk

Use:

Set Variable [ $filename; Value:“file:../../38 Projects/TDA 2nd pass/" & TDA::doc_ref_no &".txt" ]
               Export Field Contents [ TDA::Notesp01; $filename ]
          • 2. Re: Scripting - Export Field Contents Problem
            DavidF

Thanks for the prompt reply.