10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2011 7:16 PM by aikiko

Scripting Extend Found Set

shkovacs

Title

Scripting Extend Found Set

Hopefully my explanation below makes sense, and I've included the relevant variables. Having read other theads, that's a "hope", not an expecation! 

I have a master table with event id's, and the dates those events took place. An event that takes place on two different dates is represented by two different records. I specifically want replication in that way for other purposes.  The table has approx a million records, with about 54,000 different event id's taking place over 1300 dates. 

Each record is pretty long, lots of fields, but a shortened example of the master table might be

id 1234      2/10/2006

id 1234      6/15/2007

id 3456     2/10/2006

id 3456      8/9/2008

id  6789    3/15/2008

I've made a script that prompts the user to enter a date, then executes a find for all events (id's) that took place on that date. Per the above if you entered 2/10/2006, the found set would be

id 1234  2/10/2006

id  3456  2/10/2006

For clarity (?) the same event id can only happen once on a given date. A found set generally ends up having about 200 records in  the initial find (by date). Ie, of the 54,000 possible event ids that could take place on any date, only about 200 actually take place on a specific date. 

From within the found set (let's say 200 records with unique event id's), I can right click on an individual Event ID, choose extend found set. All the occurences for that rule id (all the records for all dates for that rule id) are added to the found set. If I right clicked on rule id 1234 and choose extend found set, my found set would change to

id 1234  2/10/2006

id 1234  6/15/2007

id 3456  2/10/2006

Then ((manually) i'd right click/extend on 3456 and my found set would expand to

id 1234  2/10/2006

id 1234  6/15/2007

id 3456  2/10/2006

id 3456      8/9/2008