1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2012 5:30 AM by RichardDavies_1

Scripting issues

RichardDavies_1

Title

Scripting issues

I've been having some issues writing a script for a database I've been developing, and I hope someone can help. I'm not even sure what I want to do is possible, hence my confusion.

Essentially what I want to happen is for FileMaker to check whether a particular value from a drop-down value list has been selected; if it has, then I want another field, one that was not previously visible on the layout, to appear. This visible / invisible field is obviously part of a table; I'm hoping that it will appear only when this “trigger” value has been selected.

I'm using FileMaker Pro 12 and I'm pretty new to the world of scripts, so any help will be appreciated. I can provide further clarification if required.

Thanks

Richard

• 1. Re: Scripting issues
          philmodjunk

Any number of methods can be used to control a layout's visibility and accessibility (not quite the same thing).

Here is an .fp7 demo file of several methods. To use with FileMaker 12, launch FileMaker and use open from the file menu to open it. This will produce a new copy in the .fmp12 format.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8levaz6deiyzjr8/LayoutObjectVisibilityControlDemo.fp7

• 2. Re: Scripting issues
            schamblee

You could use a merge field  or merge variable.  The merge field would be a calculation field.  If(testfield="TEST";"TEST") or it could display the contents of another field.

• 3. Re: Scripting issues
              RichardDavies_1

Thanks very much for the responses.

I mentioned in my post that I'm pretty new to all this, so I have to say I didn't understand either suggestion (I downloaded the demo file, but I couldn't see how I could apply the solutions to my situation).

Is it possible that you could help further?

Thanks again

Richard

• 5. Re: Scripting issues
                philmodjunk