8 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2012 3:37 AM by microbatteryshop

search between 2 values

microbatteryshop

Title

search between 2 values

hi, first i am completely new to filemaker. And staring to learn with each step. But this i cannot solve.

lets say i have a  table  as follows

result / minimum value / maximum value / system

A123 / 0 / 5 / NIMH

A47845 / 5 / 10 / NICD

a1684 / 5 / 10 / NIMH

A984 / 10 / 20 / NIMH

A5218 / 20 / 30 / NIMH

I have a field in a layout where i write "9 "and another "NIMH"

in the 3th field   I need the result.

so a search looks for the value 9 ( what is between 5 and 10)

and it must be NIMH. the result a1684 is written in my 3th field.

Ive looked everywhere for a solution as GET or Find or LOOP. And after 8 hours i give up. even youtube is not working

Is theire someone who can help me Laughing please

• 1. Re: search between 2 values
          philmodjunk

This can be done with a self join relationship or with a scripted Find. Either can work. The best option may depend on what you want to do with the result after you have entered this data and gotten your result.

If you just need to see the result, use the self join relationship:

Let's call your table "Values". In Manage | Database | relationships, make a new table occurrence of values by clicking it and then clicking the duplicate button (2 green plus signs). You can double click the new occurrence box to get a dialog to appear where you can rename the new occurrence box as SelectedValue.

We have not duplicated a table. Instead, this is a new reference to the same table already present in your database.

Add it to your relationships like this:

Values::gSystem = SelectedValue::System AND
          Values::gValue > SelectedValue::minimum value AND
          Values::gvalue < SelectedValue::Maximum value