3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2009 10:21 AM by philmodjunk

Search dilemma

escargot

Title

Search dilemma

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to FM so please bear with me.

Basically, I've set up a small 4 table database for my company. The tables are 'Candidate', 'Client', 'Jobs', & 'Staff'. The tables are all related to the staff table through the 'initials' field. (IE, when someone adds a new client, they select their initials from the list & the client becomes 'theirs'. The same is true for candidate & jobs).

What I'm trying to achieve is a script that enables me to go into the staff layout, select the appropriate member of staff and off their personal record page, run a search that displays (in a formatted results page) all candidates, clients & jobs they've added to the database between a set of dates.

However, whilst having a basic knowledge of SQL (specifically mySQL/PHP etc), I'm struggling with FM. Any idea where to begin?

For your info, I'm using FM 10 Pro.

Thanks for your help.

e

• 1. Re: Search dilemma
          philmodjunk

If you haven't worked with a portal before, look up the details in your on line help. Using a layout that refers to the staff table, you can add a portal or portals to display related information. THen you just need to find the desired Staff record to see the records they've added. You can do this find by hand or in a script. With FMP 10, you can even list your staff in a drop down menu and use a script trigger to perform your script to find the correct staff record.

That approach is best for data entry.

If you want a summary report, you can perform finds on layout referring to one of the other tables.

Example: