3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2010 1:37 PM by philmodjunk

Search multiple fields for one value and create a list

ELBENNETT

Title

Search multiple fields for one value and create a list

I have an order form created for my advertising department.  (there is a lot more to it but this is where I'm stuck)  On this form: a single order can run multiple times, so there are 14 slots available to enter in "run dates" Now I need to make a "run sheet"  Ideally this run sheet will print a list that shows all of the orders (Company, ad size and cost) that will run for a particular date.   So.... I'm guessing a portal is used?  How do i make my database search the 14 "run date" slots to form one list?  I am new to FileMaker but have worked in Access quite a bit in the past. So while I understand databases, all the names I'm used to are different (and a lot of the functions) and can't for the life of me figure out how to search what I need to do. Please don't bind my question by the terms I've used, any solution, or the best possible way to do this is preferred. And even teach me some FileMaker Vocab if you please :)

• 1. Re: Search multiple fields for one value and create a list
          philmodjunk

Well what do you mean by "slot" ? You should have a portal ( think MS Access Subform ) to a line items table with 14 portal rows for your orders. You can search the records in this portal quite easily, but the devil is in the details.

With a portal, you have a parent record such as an invoice record and a set of child records such as individual invoice line items. Do you want to find parent records that match criteria you enter into the portal row or all child records that match your criteria?

Either option is possbile.

• 2. Re: Search multiple fields for one value and create a list
            ELBENNETT

Sorry, slot=field, there are 14 date fields. As for everything you said... consider me lost. lol

What I do have currently is 2 tables: