5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2013 11:29 AM by NikosGewrgioy

Search Projects by Month

NikosGewrgioy

Title

Search Projects by Month

Hello,

I am new in filemaker. 

I have make a database to save some guitars informations and I would like to search how many guitars I have saved in January, February etc...

At this time if I search between 1/1/2013 - 1/31/2013 then Filemaker told me: No records match this find criteria but I have saved 8 guitars at January 2013.

How can I solve this problem?

I have uploaded my database to dropbox if you want to see the problem

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fo6f8qcbfq0b1e4/Projects.fmp12.

Sorry for my English, it's no good.

Thank you in advance

• 1. Re: Search Projects by Month
          gcatnine

The search should be:

1/1/2013...1/31/2013

not the hphen but 3 dots

• 2. Re: Search Projects by Month
            NikosGewrgioy

I don't put the hphen, I have two different fields, one for arrival date and one for finishing date.

I press the find mode button and then check the dates 1/1/2013 on the arrival date field and 1/31/2013 on the finishing date and then I press the Perform Find button.

• 3. Re: Search Projects by Month
              gcatnine

doung this you search for records that have arrival date = 1/1/2013 and finishing date = 1/31/2013

if you want to search in between just enter:

arrival date: ≥1/1/2013

finishing date: ≤ 1/31/2013

• 4. Re: Search Projects by Month
                philmodjunk

It appears that you have a date interval and want to know if that date interval "overlaps" the date interval specified by the first and last days of a given month.

Note that the following three date intervals overlap the 1/1/2013...1/31/2013 date interval:

12/31/2012 ; 1/15/2013 | 2nd date falls between start and end dates
                     1/5/2013 ; 2/20/2013  | 1st date falls between start and end dates
                     12/5/2012 ; 2/5/2013  | 1st date is before start date and 2nd date comes after start date