11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2009 9:42 AM by senriz_1

Search Script Stopped Working

senriz_1

Title

Search Script Stopped Working

I'm a novice using FMP9 Adv.  I have a db with a student TO, a school TO, IST Test TO, OPI Test TO, and a CAT Test TO.

Each of the Test TOs have a coordinating Form Layout where data is entered and a  coordinating Report Layout.

I have a script that brings up a new layout called Test Finder for each Test Form Layout where specific criteria is entered and then reported in the Test Report Layout.

One stopped working.  It gives an error that no specified criteria is found.  I've checked everything, the relationship, the layouts in the script, the sort in the script.  Verified everything with an older copy where it does work and can find NO change anywhere.

From an older copy, I've even imported the table, data, made duplicate layouts, scripts, changed layout references, sorts, set up the relationship, etc., and it still won't work.

However, I can create a new record in the test form and the report script works fine for the new data only.

Any assistance would be soooo appreciated.

• 1. Re: Search Script Stopped Working
          philmodjunk

We might spot something if you post your script. Since you have advanced, an easy way to do this is to generate a database design report and then copy/paste the text from the report to the forum.

One possibility: if your script uses copy/paste steps instead of set field to build the find request, this error can happen if one of the referenced fields is no longer present on the layout. 

• 2. Re: Search Script Stopped Working
            senriz_1

Here's my script.  The school layout is actually called Campus.  The relationship to the layouts is by StudentID. 

Allow User Abort [ On ]

New Window [ Name: "Specify Criteria"; Height: 0; Width: 0; Top: 0; Left: 0 ]

Go to Layout [ “CATTestByCampus&Grade Finder” (CAT Test Data) ]

Show/Hide Status Area

[ Show ]

Adjust Window