9 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2013 2:48 AM by GuyStevens

Seeking a Filemaker Mentor

SamuelPeret

Title

Seeking a Filemaker Mentor

Hello, I'm just getting started with Filemaker, I'm probably 150 hours in to a project that I'm doing for an Artist to organize her paintings and inventory. I'm doing alright, but really just want to talk to someone and walk them through what I've done and get feedback. Make sure I'm not making any major rookie mistakes.  Is there anyone willing to share some screentime with me? Happy to barter if there is a task you can delegate online (or I can host you in Maui :) )

• 1. Re: Seeking a Filemaker Mentor
          GuyStevens

If you are comfortable with it you can put your (empty) file online and we could have a look at it.

Let you know if there are any major mistakes you are making.

• 2. Re: Seeking a Filemaker Mentor
            davidanders

If you have a ERD (entity-relationship diagram), user base (single user, multi-user, online user), and sample(s) of the output needed (print reports, html, pdf, data) you will find the help offered here is often extremely good.

Screen shots can be posted here

The links here are beginner level to intermediate
            http://forums.filemaker.com/posts/f6ed4be796?commentId=222931#222931

• 3. Re: Seeking a Filemaker Mentor
              SamuelPeret

Ok, here goes: 

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/57157620/TAFABASE.fmp12

It's the full database. I don't see any harm in sharing the enclosed data. It's still a work in progress, but would love to get any feedback. Cheers!

-S

• 4. Re: Seeking a Filemaker Mentor
                GuyStevens

Looking good Samuel.

A few things I noticed:
                     - In your website adress you might have to add "www." otherwise the GoToUrl button doesn't work.
                     - You don't seem to have any totals on your reports in list view. You could just add a Trailing grand Total part and show your Total Summary field there.