12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2010 7:03 PM by Nerico_1

Seeking feedback on new design

Nerico_1

Title

Seeking feedback on new design

Hi,

I'm a newbie to FM using FM Pro 11 on Mac OS (Snow Leopard).  I' creating a DB to manage the interview process for our school.

I have 4 main tables and 3 or 4 others that are not much more than advanced value lists.

The first 3 main tables are not related and are pretty self explanatory

Dates - lists the particular dates when we interview

Interviewers - lists all the potential interviewers

Applicants - lists all the applicants

The fouth table, Interviews, contains foreign keys for the other three as it lists the particulars of each interview slot.

My question is, is this a workable design?  Is it OK to have 3 foreign keys in one table or do I need to divide this up in some other fashion?

I'm currently doing video training and using a "Missing Manual" book but since they both pretty much just follow up a particular scenario which does not match my needs, my brain is swimming.  I would also appreciate any guidance on good online articles that explain this better by addressing the concept of what should be done or shouldn't be done with fk thoroughly and not as it applies to just one scenario.

TIA

• 1. Re: Seeking feedback on new design
          comment_1

Yes, it is a workable design. However, I am not sure why you need the Dates table as a parent table to Interviews. I could understand using it as a value list, but does it contain any additional information regarding the date that is common to all interviews on that date?

• 2. Re: Seeking feedback on new design
            Nerico_1

Thanks for the response.

Yes, the Dates table contains additional information that is unique to the date but independent of the actual interviews.