5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2011 11:36 AM by philmodjunk

Selecting individual records with checkbox from a portal list

VenturaDon

Title

Selecting individual records with checkbox from a portal list

I'm a newbie using FM 11 Advanced. Have spent hours studying checkboxes, scripts, portals, etc, in the forums/knowledge base and thought it should be "straightforward" to create a script that would allow a user to check checkboxes from a found set of records in a portal, but I need help - can't figure it out.

I've created a value list "Select Record" with custom value of 1. I have a layout with a TO portal ("Data Records2") and field ("Street") and the checkbox. Following PhilModJunk's advice on an old post, I've got 2 text fields on the layout (one with a checkbox) and can toggle the "1" in the blank text field on and off, but can't figure out how to use that info to select records in the portal. I want to be able to check some records then select a button ("Select Records") to only show those records in the portal list. Thanks all!

• 1. Re: Selecting individual records with checkbox from a portal list
          philmodjunk

So first you see all related records in the portal and then, after clicking check boxes, you want the same portal to show only the selected ones?

Interesting concept.

You'll need a portal filter that filters for the selected items, but which can also be turned "on" or "off".

Try this portal filter expression:

Not $$FilterOn or data Records 2::checkboxField

Set your button to turn on/off the filter to be:

Set Variable [$$FilterOn ; value: Not ( $$FilterOn ) ]

Refresh Window [Flush cached join results]