3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2010 4:28 PM by philmodjunk

Selecting multiple customers for multiple pictures

PapaRogs

Title

Selecting multiple customers for multiple pictures

Hi.  I'm a newbie and don't yet have a filemaker mindset and wondering if I ever will at this point.

I need to select or mark several customers (1-6 or so), show them a group pictures one at a time, mark each customer that wants one and move on to the next picture and do it all over again.  Several, all or none of the customers may choose any or all of the pix.

I believe that I'm looking at the relationships of a Customer table with a 1-many to a Cust-Img table with a many-1 to an Images table.  This would be like the typical Invoices to Line Items to Products that everyone uses.  However, I haven't seen any examples of an interface that allows multiple choices on both ends (Customers & Images).  So I am in the dark as to how to accomplish this.

If someone would be willing to point me in the right direction I would be most appreciative!

Thanks!

Filemaker Pro 10 Advanced on a Macbook with Snow Leopard.

• 1. Re: Selecting multiple customers for multiple pictures
          FentonJones
             This is pretty exactly like a typical Customer to Invoice to Line Items from Products. That's 4 tables. It cannot be done with less. You still need an Invoice, because a sale happens at a specific time, with 1 Customer, and 1 or more Line Items (copies of images in this case). An Invoice is basically a shell to contain line items. You are selling copies of images, not a one-time sale of the original image; hence the Images are the Products. You want to set their Image ID (unique in the Images table) into the Line Items.
          • 2. Re: Selecting multiple customers for multiple pictures
            PapaRogs

Thanks for the response, Fenton!