1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2012 2:11 PM by LWayne_1

Selection one record from Portal

LWayne_1

Title

Selection one record from Portal

Hi -

I have a portal on a layout that can contain many records.  I would like to select one record in the portal and have it display only that one record (the table has more fields than the portal and a vertical view works better than the horizonial one that's on the portal) on the same layout (or at least call a window that will display the selected record).  Can someone point me in the right direction to accomplish this?  I am relatively new to FileMaker and would like to use the best way.

Thanks,

LWayne

• 1. Re: Selection one record from Portal
          philmodjunk

What relationship do you have for your portal? (Always tell us that when you have a portal that's part of your issue.)

Usually such a portal uses a self join relationship with the X operator. Is this the case in your database?

LayoutTableOccurrence::anyfield X PortalTableOccurrence::anyfield

If so, clicking a button in the portal row (which can be all the fields in the row set up as a single button with button setup...), can use Go to Related Records to switch the current record in LayoutTableOccurrence to that which was clicked in the portal. You can also use conditional formatting to highlight the matching portal row thus clicked by changing the fill color of the fields.

Go To Related Record [From table: PortalTableOccurrence ; Using layout: <CurrentLayout> ]

• 2. Re: Selection one record from Portal
            LWayne_1

Phil -

I use an = operator versus and X operator, what is the purpose of an X operator?

• 3. Re: Selection one record from Portal
              philmodjunk

The X operator is the cartesian join operator it matches any record in LayoutTableOccurrence to all records in PortalTableOccurrence.

As long as your portal lists the records you want to see, the Go To Related records method I described should work.