0 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2014 1:12 PM by robyn.wilcox@gvltec.edu

Send email automatically when user enters info in custom web publishing form

robyn.wilcox@gvltec.edu

Title

Send email automatically when user enters info in custom web publishing form

I've been our company's self-taught Filemaker guru for more than 5 years now, and we recently decided to use it more actively to manage our job requests from internal clients.  We've been dinking around with the solution as we go, making it work for everyone in the office, and it is humming along pretty well (using Filemaker Server and Pro 13).  We're working with a 3rd party to set up a Custom Web Publishing form for non-filemaker users to enter their job requests.  THAT part is taking forever and is costing us a fortune, so a bit disappointing.  We had planned to have them set it up to automatically email a response to the person submitting the form as confirmation, but we don't have the additional money to get that from them too.  So...I'm trying to figure it out myself but NEED HELP.  Seems like there should be a way to trigger when a new entry is added to a database, but I can't find that one.

What I want:

Client submits job request, which automatically adds an entry to our Filemaker database and triggers and email response to the email address they entered saying we received your request, no matter what time of day they submit it or whether anyone is actually in Filemaker or not.

- I have set up an auto complete field for submitted by, which will show "webadmin" if the entry comes from the form, rather than from one of us in the department - to designated those from webadmin

- I have set up an auto complete field for submitted on, with a time stamp - to designate when jobs are submitted

- I have set up a field for Email sent with a time stamp - to designate which have received email and which haven't