1 2 3 Previous Next 34 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2010 4:54 AM by ianmanning

Sending emails with file maker

sarahm

Title

Sending emails with file maker

Hi, I am new to file maker and I have created a data base with clients for our small company. Now I am being asked to email all of the clients. In a perfect world I would like to send out emails using a letter layout customized to each client. I learned how to set up a letter layout that is customized now I am wondering if there is a way to send those records for the letter layout to each one of our clients.   We want each email to have each clients personalized name.

• 1. Re: Sending emails with file maker
          ryan

what version of FM are you using?

• 2. Re: Sending emails with file maker
            casey777

Sarahm,

You probably should start with using the Filemaker Send Mail script step, search for the names to whom you want to send the email, set up a loop, and send one at a time with or without dialog with your email client software. By using field names in the subject line and body of the email, you can easily personalize each one.

When you are comfortable with that, consider installing a plugin to enable inline layout as part of the email which will also be personalized and will look better than regular text email, however, in most cases, a well organized text email is often as good as a layout unless you want to include boxes, lines and logos. 

Frank

Filemaker Pro solutions developer

• 3. Re: Sending emails with file maker
              sarahm

Hey I am using file maker pro 11 trial for now , seeing if it is worth buying. If I can figure out how to send personalized emails to clients, I will probably keep it.

• 4. Re: Sending emails with file maker
                ryan

and are you familiar with writing scripts?

• 5. Re: Sending emails with file maker
                  sarahm

I have a little bit of information from a tutorial I received

• 6. Re: Sending emails with file maker