5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2012 7:21 PM by philmodjunk

Sending Mass Emails

filemakerbasic

Title

Sending Mass Emails

Hello,

I am currently running a database that contains just around 400 contacts in it. Each contact could have up to 5 email addresses linked to it, (each one obviously has its own unique field/field name).
      Since I am new to FileMaker and do not want to waste time doing something to find out I did it the wrong way, I was wondering if someone can tell me how to send out a mass email.

The ideal for me would be to have a button above my "Contact List" that would automatically open Mail and start a new message to all the email address I have entered. Is this possible? I really hope it is due to the fact that it is one of the main reasons I purchased FileMaker, and have spent over 100 hours creating my database and entering all my contact's info.

My guess is that it probably involves some scripting, which I am close to horrible at, so some help would be greatly appreciated!
      If you have any questions, feel free to ask! 

Thanks,

Paris

• 1. Re: Sending Mass Emails
          philmodjunk

How are the "up to 5 email addresses" stored in your database? Are these 5 separate fields in your contacts table or records in a table related to contacts?

And when you choose to send an email to "all the email addresses I have entered", would this be the up to 5 email addresses that are part of the current contact record or do you want to send this email to every email recorded in your database? Both can be done. The details differ.

Note that many ISPs set limits on how many emails can be sent out so you may need to research that part of the issue with your ISP to find out what you can and can't do.

• 2. Re: Sending Mass Emails
            filemakerbasic