1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2012 2:10 PM by philmodjunk

Sending New Record/Data to another Filemaker Account

ienalpe28

Title

Sending New Record/Data to another Filemaker Account

Hi I am working with a filemaker project that let's one user input text in set of fields and one of the field will be a "reffered to" which user can select user account that the record/data will be send to after commiting or pressing a submit button. The other user whom the record or data were reffered will then login to the database and will received a notification or the new record/data for action. (this should be in list view cos one user can be reffered with many record/data for action.)

Can anyone please help me on how to do this. Im new to filemaker and I havent found a solution yet to my problem

I will be so thankful to anyone who will help me.

Im using filemaker pro 12 advanced.

fm.jpg

• 1. Re: Sending New Record/Data to another Filemaker Account
          philmodjunk

The only data an Account can store is an account name, privilege set and password. So you can't send data to an account. But you can log this data in a record with the selected user's account name entered in a field in this table. A script can then be set to run each time the file is opened that uses the current user's account name to look for any entries in this table that haven't already been brought up for the user's attention in a previous run of this script.

Let's say the table where this data in entered is called "Encoded" and contains a field called __pkEncodedDataID and is an auto-entered serial number field that uniquely identifies this record.

Then a "Referrals" table can have at least 3 fields: "Referred To" (stores account name), _fkEncodedDataId (number), Viewed (number)