11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2013 4:29 AM by JimMac

Separation Model

Aahna

Title

Separation Model

Hii, I'm new in FM.So please tell me dat how can we implement separation model in the filemaker??what should i have to do first...????

• 1. Re: Separation Model
          JimMac

Ok I will be the first to ask....

What is a separation model?sad

Jim...

• 2. Re: Separation Model
            JimMac

I couldn't wait to hear back form you so I Bing'd it,  Read on it, and there are several spots to define what is simply done on FMP.

http://fmforums.com/forum/forum/16-the-separation-model/

Simply create your Interface's as separtate Files and FMP will let you link externals files.  Done!

It is recommended that all Files be kept in same basic root directory, which may violate your desired outcome.  This for speed and not accessibilty.

FMP gives you the tools, but you the programmer must layout your desire model.cool

JIm...

• 3. Re: Separation Model
              philmodjunk

And here's a link in this forum on converting a single file FileMaker database into the two file "Separation Model" version: Convert to Seperation Model

• 4. Re: Separation Model
                Aahna

Hi....Thnx 4 rplyy...Bt actually thng is der is only one main file and der are around 20 external files.. so in this case... how can i use separation model..????

• 5. Re: Separation Model
                  JimMac

I don't understand.  You pick the center of the wheel.  I don't think there is a limit to the number of external files [spokes].  I have a DB with at least 12 externals.  You model it.  FMP implements your model.  Phil gave you how to separate if needed, but it seems you are starting FRESH.

You are just separating the Design Public interface to the HIG artistic people, from the Data storage calculation design people, you wish to display/input on the Web.

BTW it is my humble opinion that 90%+ of most encoding is for the Human Interface Guildlines HIG.surprise

Jim...