6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2015 8:22 AM by MatthewPetersen

Sequential Numbering For Printing...

MatthewPetersen

Title

Sequential Numbering For Printing...

So I am making an application for labeling cartons. It's all pretty straight forward, except I can't figure out how to print sequentially numbered labels. What I would like to be able to do is, if I need 5 carton labels, I would hit print and each label would be numbered 1 of 5, 2 of 5, 3 of 5 etc up to 5 labels being printed, or however many labels I would need. Anyone have any ideas on how to accomplish this? I am not a filemaker expert by any means, but I can pluck my way through pretty well.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

• 1. Re: Sequential Numbering For Printing...
          philmodjunk

And you have one record for each label you print at one time?

Does 1 of 5 mean that you have 5 labels to print for the current print job?

If so, you can use the Insert Menu to insert text into a layout text block. Click the text tool while in layout mode and draw a rectangle on your layout approximately where you want this text to go. Then pull down the Insert menu and select the Record Number Symbol option. This will insert text enclosed in {brackets} into your text object that will show the record number when you exit layout mode. Now type in "of " (don't forget the spaces) and then pull down the Insert Menu again. This time select "other symbol..." followed by selecting "found count" as your second symbol.

You can switch between layout and browse mode to see how this will display on your layout and to better adjust the position, size and text format of this text to provide the numbering specified.

If my assumptions about how you are printing your labels are incorrect, describe the design of your layout and how you are printing labels in more detail as there are other options that can work for other situations.

• 2. Re: Sequential Numbering For Printing...
            MatthewPetersen