8 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2010 5:08 PM by LaRetta_1

Serial Number From 2 Text Field

Lioncross

Title

Serial Number From 2 Text Field

HI 

I am kind a new user here , I am still learning, so I hope my question wont mind you guys.

I want to create auto serial number which the Serial will be 

GJP@XX00001

@= First letter of Category of Product

XX = Product Name (LEN 2 Character)

Thanks in Advance

• 1. Re: Serial Number From 2 Text Field
          LaRetta_1

Hi Lioncross,

Auto-enter serial numbers should be meaningless.  This primary key needs to be used to connect your relationships throughout your system.  If you use something with meaning and that meaning ever changes, it will break your relationships.  So stick to auto-enter serial numbers.  If you wish to display this specialized number for users to see then create another calculation (result is text) which concatenates them together as:  "GJP" & Left (categoryproduct ; 1 ) & Left ( ProductName ; 2 ) & serial :smileyhappy:

• 2. Re: Serial Number From 2 Text Field
            Lioncross

Thanks to Laretta again, well the serial number field will be like this ?

autoserial (field with auto serial)

serial_number = "GJP" & Left (categoryproduct ; 1 ) & Left ( ProductName ; 2 ) & autoserial

using 2 field to make this ?

• 3. Re: Serial Number From 2 Text Field
              Lioncross

I did that

"GJP" & Left (categoryproduct ; 1 ) & Left ( ProductName ; 2 ) & autoserial

When I Create New Records

its automaticly create the serial number first without waiting the category field and the productname field being filled.

:smileysad:

• 4. Re: Serial Number From 2 Text Field
                LaRetta_1

"GJP" & Left (categoryproduct ; 1 ) & Left ( ProductName ; 2 ) & autoserial

This concatenation (which is only for display and never to be used as keys to bind relationships), should be type calculation and not text with auto-enter calculation